Life-isms

I’ve Let Myself Go

I’ve let myself go. And you should too.

And no, this has nothing to do with that song from Frozen. I have a certain amount of pride in the fact that I’ve never heard more than a short snippet of the chorus of that song. I feel like the lone survivor of a zombie apocalypse.

Anyway, I’m referring to the stay-at-home-mom version of letting yourself go. You know, not putting on makeup, sporting an eternal ponytail with its ever-present huge rat’s nest sidekick, wearing sweats most of the day, forgetting to use a hairbrush for days,  etc. I plead guilty to all of the above.

Until pretty recently I felt pretty guilty about it. I kept thinking You know, other stay-at-home-moms make an effort to get ready for the day every day. Other moms put makeup on before going to the grocery store. Where is your self discipline?

But the other day I was looking in the mirror and realized, Wow, my skin has been looking really great lately! This is the best it’s looked probably since I was in elementary school. At first I figured it was just my hormones finally claiming some normalcy after pregnancy. And that’s probably at least partially why.

But something else dawned on me. I went from wearing makeup daily and having rebellious skin to wearing makeup maybe twice a week and having much healthier looking skin. Maybe, just maybe, letting myself go was actually doing my face a huge favor.

I noticed a similar pattern with my hair. I used to blow dry and then either straighten or curl my hair daily, and it looked kind of dull and it stopped growing when it got to a certain length. Now I use heat on it once or twice a week. And it’s never been longer or shinier. My hair loves that I’ve let it go.

Letting yourself go has such a negative connotation. It’s lazy and undisciplined, and do you even care about how you look?

But you can’t see my self discipline by looking at my hair and makeup.

I can tell by her eye shadow that she finally nailed that G sharp minor scale she’s been working on for the past week. So disciplined!

Her hair is perfectly curled. Definitely means she managed to stay away from her electronic devices while her baby was awake. What strength of will!

I do care what I look like. I want to look cute and skinny and totally put together. But I’m realizing it’s not that important for me to be dolled up daily. I don’t need to and I don’t want to. I like my newly healthy hair and skin. I like who I am as a person. I like my role in my home. I like my job. I’m excited about my goals.

As that cheesy saying goes, if you love something let it go.  And I’m letting myself go.

Standard

Leave a Reply

