Possibly Educational

Family History for the World Geographer

This is a series on finding your niche in doing family history.

Our families end up doing a lot of moving over time. Across the ocean, across the country, or even just across the street. Rootsmapper is a fun site to visualize how different branches of our family tree moved around the world. I’d recommend watching their official demo video to get a feel for how to navigate¬†the site, but I’ll share a few cool things you can do with it.

2

This is 6 generations of my tree mapped out. I’m a 0, my parents are 1’s (pink and blue), my grandparents are 2’s, and so forth.

3

From here you can also see how many of your ancestors were born in each country.

4

You can isolate individual lines from your family tree. This is my Keating line as far back as it goes.

The possibilities are endless!

Standard

Leave a Reply

