Life-isms

{End of May}

Reading:
Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. I didn’t really know what to expect from this. From page one you know this is about old people, which usually wouldn’t be terribly interesting for me–it’s just not the life phase I connect with right now–but it’s funny and charming. I liked it. Various social issues are swirling around throughout the story, and it’s just enough that it’s thoughtful, but not so much that it overpowers the sweetness of the overarching story.

Watching:
Jane Eyre (the newish one with Michael Fassbender). I’m a late-comer to the Jane Eyre train. I only read it for the first time about a year ago, which is such a shame because it hits all the right notes for me. I checked out the movie from the library while my husband was out of town last week and watched it after I put the little boy to bed, and I sure did enjoy it, but I also sure did forget how spooky this story is. It might not be the best thing to view alone in the dark. But I did like it. They did some interesting things with the order of events and did flashbacks instead of going chronologically. It can be annoying when movies mess too much with the structure of classics, but in this case I thought it complimented the story well.

Thinking about:
Your Body is Not Your Masterpiece. The article itself is good (nothing mind-blowing), but that first line really resonated with me. “Your body is not your masterpiece — your life is.” I know a lot of people who on social media, at least, are constantly sending the message that their bodies are the masterpiece. It’s all about the nails, the healthy meals, the makeup, the exercise, the hair, etc. I realize they’re probably far more balanced in the other aspects of their lives (spiritual/emotional/intellectual/social) outside of social media, but their bodies are the only thing I hear about. Being healthy is important, but is it the masterpiece? Nope. The same applies to about any good thing in your life. Your job is not your masterpiece. Your hobby is not your masterpiece. Your home is not your masterpiece. Your education is not your masterpiece. Your kids are not your masterpiece. I would even say your spirituality is not your masterpiece. Your life as a whole–the culmination and balance of all these good things–is your masterpiece. So the take-home for me is reflecting on if I’m putting too much emphasis on any one part of my life, whether in real life or on social media. I do think temporary spurts of imbalances can be a healthy coping strategy, though. For example, for a while I spent way too much time doing family history, but it helped me through some new mom struggles. But I consciously decided to ease up on the family history obsession once those other struggles subsided. I had an imbalance of struggle, so I allowed myself an imbalance of something that gave me life. And I guess that in itself is balance. Anyway, balance is important.

Standard

One thought on “{End of May}

  1. I always enjoy your blogposts, Lindsey! Jane Eyre is one if my all-time favorite novels. I’ve read it eight times now. It was one of the focus works in that 19th Century British Lit Class I took a few years ago. I learned about so many interesting literary nuances at that time it made even more enjoyable to read again. I’ll have to check out the movie!

    I think you are a good example of balance in life. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, insights, and experiences!

Leave a Reply

