Life-isms

{End of June}

Reading:

Coraline by Neil Gaiman. I just went on vacation and took two (very short) books with me plus another, thinking I’d run out of reading material, but no. One does not relax on trips that include children. And now I need about a week of sleep to recover. But Coraline was one of the books I took as a fun, easy read (Amazon says it’s reading level 8 and up, so I’m not sure if that’s age or grade level. Probably grade level). I haven’t seen the movie, so I wasn’t familiar with the plot. It’s a spooky little tale about a girl who needs to be brave even though things are pretty scary. I liked it.

Listening to:

Malcolm Gladwell’s Revisionist History Podcast. You might know him from his books or TED Talks (I enjoyed this one), but he’s dabbling in a different media form, and it works well. He does an interesting mashup of recent history and not-so-recent history, and thinks about how history might be misunderstood in some aspects.

Watching:

Endeavour Season 3 on PBS. We haven’t actually started the new season yet, but we noticed upon the return of said vacation that it’s running on PBS (and is available to stream from the site), so I’m looking forward to that. Season 2 left on a huge cliff-hanger, so I’m excited. P.S., seasons 1 and 2 are on Amazon Prime, and I bet season 3 will end up there as well.

Digging:

Private Selection bottled sodas (from stores with Kroger products). We tried the huckleberry hibiscus cream soda first (super delicious), then the Bourbon cola (interesting, but not bad). We have yet to try the grapefruit cream soda and the Irish cream soda, but you’d better believe we’re going to.

Standard

One thought on “{End of June}

  1. Georgia says:

    I’m so glad you would go on the family vacation. I loved having you, Kev, and Bug 1 along!

    I always enjoy your reading, listening, and watching recommendations. And we agree with your ‘digging’ suggestion!

Leave a Reply

