Life-isms

{Mid July}

Reading:

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. I really enjoyed this and thought it had helpful insight. It took me forever to read it because it was one of those that had so many jewels I had to soak it in slowly. It talks about the phenomenon of the extrovert ideal in the US in particular, and how in different cultures introverted is the ideal. It talks about where our personalities come from and how they can change over time, strengths and weaknesses of both extroverts and introverts, and what it means to be highly sensitive. It gives practical advice for introverts who feel socially paralyzed and powerless, along with insight into raising and teaching introverted kids.

Also, Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood by Fay and Fay. I lucked out with a child who developed excellent language skills pretty early, so the twos haven’t been terrible at all. It might also help that I sat in on about 3 consecutive months of parenting classes as a social work intern. By the way, go take a patenting class. They aren’t just for people trying to regain custody of their kids. They really are helpful. If you live in Utah, Love and Logic classes are free. But my child is normal and goes tantrumy or whiney or ignorey pretty often. And we have a new friend joining us in December, so I read this book to try to preempt the terrible 3’s. It’s cheesy, ultimately pretty helpful. I’d recommend it. 

Watching:

Endeavour. Ok, I mentioned this last post, but now we’ve watched the first two episodes of the new season and they’re so good. The first episode is a twist on The Great Gatsby set in the 60’s and it’s amazing.

Playing:

Gordon Ramsay Dash. I’ve never watched any Gordon Ramsay shows, but I’m a sucker for these kind of process-intensive games, and apparently this one is a big deal. You assemble the orders quickly and accurately or he yells at you. I guess. I have the sound off. I turn the sound off on most games. But I read that he uses actual swears, so keep that in mind. But it’s fun. And pretty challenging.

Standard

Leave a Reply

