Life-isms

{Mid September}

Reading:

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. All I knew about this book beforehand was that it was about a group traveling around in a post-apocalyptic scenario, so I was expecting it to be an action-packed thriller. And it was a page-turner, but not in the way I was expecting. It’s much more about the seperate characters’ stories and their (often unknown to them) connections to each other before and after everything changed. It’s a little bone-chilling  (which is to be expected since the story is centered around the fall of a civilization) but unexpectedly poignant and lovely.

Listening to:

Playing God by Radiolab with the Stuff You Should Know episode How Triage Works recommended (by me) as a prerequisite. Triage, especially in disaster situations, is such a complex moral dilemma. And it’s something I hadn’t even considered until these two episodes.

Watching:

The Busy World of Richard Scarry. I realized that my child would love Richard Scarry books, so we’ve been slowly going through Richard Scarry’s Best Storybook Ever! And then I saw that a bunch of seasons of the TV show are on Amazon Prime, and now he looooooves that show. It wins out over Bob the Builder pretty often, which is high praise. It’s nostalgic for me because we had a Richard Scarry VHS tape of several episodes when I was growing up.

Standard

One thought on “{Mid September}

  1. Georgia says:

    I love your blog, Lindsey! You are a great writer and I really enjoy you perspectives about what you’re reading, watching, and hearing. I was especially happy to learn of Little Man’s enrapture with Richard Scary’s work. I, too, am nostalgic over his illustrations and writings. I had no idea his books had been made into videos. That’s so cool! And on Amazon Prime? Even cooler!

Leave a Reply

