Life-isms

{End of October}

I’m a week late… it’s been an insane couple of weeks. I decided to do book 2 Suzuki training while I still only have one child–even though I’m taking a break from teaching for a while (between church callings, a toddler, and a newborn, I just literally have no time). I had to do 8 hours of observations of other teachers, and the due date snuck up on me. And that isn’t even code for “I procrastinated it.” The due date was several weeks sooner than I was expecting, so I ended up cramming all 8 hours in a two-week span. Fortunately, most of my students have already switched to other teachers so I have a tiny bit more expendable time, but still it was a herculean task to coordinate other teachers’ schedules with my limited schedule (considering I have a toddler to find a babysitter for). But it’s done now. Largely in part due to my mom randomly asking if she could come watch the small child. Heaven sent. And now I only have a billion other things to accomplish before the younger child comes. Oh, and there’s normal Christmas stuff to deal with as well. I’m considering adding “give up” to my to do list just in case. Anyway, here’s the brief rundown…

Reading:

The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart. It’s the prequel to The Mysterious Benedict Society series (which I haven’t read yet), and I enjoyed it. It’s a kid chapter book, and it was a fun and smart read.

Listening to:

In the Dark podcast. It’s along the same lines as Serial season 1, but with a little less speculation and amateur sleuthing. But with good reason–this cold case was finally solved a week before the series was set to premier. They switched everything up to reflect this huge development remarkably well; it’s all so well told. It’s about the disappearance of Jacob Wetterling and the social and legal repercussions of his case.

Watching:

Spotlight on VidAngel. This movie is the true story of the Boston Globe’s investigation into the child sexual abuse cover-up scandal in the Catholic church. So very interesting (and sad). This movie is rated R, but with a few VidAngel filters it was pretty tame. I chose to keep the descriptions of sexual assault un-filtered (because that’s the whole point of the movie), and I didn’t think it was terribly disturbing–but I’ve heard many, many similar stories from various child welfare classes and in Good-Touch/Bad-Touch training, so maybe I’m not the best judge of that. I thought the descriptions were portrayed really respectfully (and sparingly), and they gave the message that there are safe places where victims can talk about horrendous things they’ve been through, which I think is important.

Standard

Leave a Reply

